naked truth

Posted on Updated on

what a strange beauty there is
in learning from the opposites

I love freely
because I know how it feels
not to be loved

I appreciate little things
whole heartedly
because I know how it is
to be taken for granted

I try hard to understand
because I know how it feels
to be misunderstood

I am and I am not
yet I persist

I often smile at the sun
I seek light
because I have seen
the darkest of nights

I know what freedom is
because I had been tied down
for too long to a place
I didn’t belong

I long for my home
because I know how agonizing
that separation is

covered in thorns
I delight in soothing
someone’s pain
having drowned in tears
I delight in a smile on a face

yes, you can call me insane
because I know there is nothing
no nothing in staying sane

I know yet I remain a fool
hiding behind words
look how I spill
my heart out

how amazing it is, I wonder
to have learnt from contradictions

…..

photography by Nassima Rothacker : http://www.nassimarothacker.com

h

51 thoughts on “naked truth

    Harold Green said:
    February 1, 2014 at 10:34 pm

    Loving your blog!!!

    Thank you for discovering my photography blog http://www.throughharoldslens.com.

    You gave me the opportunity to discover, explore and follow your blog. Hope we both enjoy our journeys.

    On behalf of the Through Harold’s Lens Creative Team, my trusty sidekick Mr. SLR Nikon, his brother Mr. Pen Pal and myself, we wish you the best.

    Regards,
    Harold

    Like

    JOanna Tan said:
    January 18, 2014 at 4:37 am

    Reblogged this on the P.K.'s talk.

    Like

    Noora said:
    December 8, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    This is so profound and moving poem, Himani. I’m sure many of us can relate to your beautifully composed poem. I also loved the title.

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 10, 2013 at 12:04 pm

      thank you Noora, I am very happy to hear that! and as always I appreciate your kind words and thoughts..much love ♥

      Like

    brenelliott05 said:
    December 7, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    That is just beautiful. I felt my feet following along in the path of your words, nodding in agreement, and sensing a sisterhood with you.

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 7, 2013 at 7:42 pm

      that made me smile, brenelliott.. I wish you the best of love and light. thank you so much 🙂

      Like

    Wendell A. Brown said:
    December 7, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    I always love what you share no matter the subject because it is so genuine, your poem reminded me of myself back in 1976, when It seemed there were no lasting relationships in my life…I wrote this poem back then and am sharing it with you, because of your words. It may be meaningful,..
    the words came at a time when I gave up on love/relationships. I was tired of always trying to do it myself. I gave it to God and told him to choose for me and I would wait for his answer to come. I did, and the answer came 5 months later. I did not search, he brought it to me!

    Alone

    Sometimes I feel so crazy now
    Especially at night so all alone
    My heart and soul feel so empty
    As my thoughts just seem to roam

    It seems entirely different these days
    How my mistakes I seem to repeat
    Whenever I lead with my emotions
    Not really evaluating what my eyes see

    It seems I become more uneasy now
    No longer sure If I should take a chance
    As it seems each time I lead with my heart
    It always ends in another broken romance

    So I think I’ll hold still for the present
    Placing my faith in God that I will not slip
    And the wife that I have asked him for
    Will come into my life with a lasting bliss

    Wendell A. Brown
    November 1976

    Have a wonderful and blessed weekend my sister!

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 7, 2013 at 7:36 pm

      My dearest sweetest brother Wendell, I appreciate you sharing that more than you know! It moved me deeply and I resonate with your words and what you went through.

      I believe in the Higher Power more than anyone, what I am today is because of Him..His blessings, His grace. and I place all my wishes and dreams at His feet every night. This gives me hope and a sense of genuine care coming from you..so thank you, thank you so much for sharing it. may we stay blessed to have the knowing that what whatever comes, comes through Him and His will. With a humble heart full of gratitude, I send you the best of my wishes. hope you’re having a lovely, blessed weekend ♥

      Like

    aKnowItAll said:
    December 7, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    Reblogged this on Ramblings of a Know It All.

    Like

    peacefulblessedstar said:
    December 6, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    I held back tears reading this.

    I know now, I am not alone.

    Can’t wait to dive into your other work.

    Thanks Poetsis

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:46 pm

      aw Poetsis ♥ you are never alone, never. I wish you much love and light, always. thank you for visiting this space 🙂

      Like

    Paul Nichol said:
    December 6, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    I know the essence of this poem, I am glad I came so I can now follow…..

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:43 pm

      ah how wonderful it is to cross paths with a kindred soul. thank you dear Paul, very happy to see you here 🙂

      Like

    IdealisticRebel said:
    December 5, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    Very moving words. You are a special woman. In peace, Barbara

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:42 pm

      so are you, dear Barbara ♥ thank you for your kind words..much love and light

      Like

    balroop2013 said:
    December 5, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    Hi Himani,
    I like how you have merged the contradictory details of life! very well articulated…NO you are not hiding behind words! You can use them so well.

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:40 pm

      Dear Balroop, I am happy to hear you resonated 🙂 what I meant was that although the readers can’t see me physically, but they can see and know me through these words coming from my heart 🙂 thank you again for your kind words.

      Like

    Sophie said:
    December 5, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    I LOVE this x so easy to relate to x so beautifully said x

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:37 pm

      Sophie, makes me very happy to hear that 🙂 thanks a lot xox

      Like

    Eric Halliwell said:
    December 5, 2013 at 3:12 pm

      Dear “Himani B” I was very moved and impressed by yiour poem naked truth. This Hegelian business of opposites and negative space has always fascinated me. If yoi wanted, I coiuld post yior poem on my facebook metaphysical poet grouip. With a link to yor site. But say the word. Meanwhile, here is a poem I wrote yesterday abouit contradictions and the resolution of that:   (I am by the way, Eric Halliwell—you responded to my website rumi-nations.com)     Imperative, Like Morning Sun   “Paint the light.”

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:36 pm

      Dearest Eric, it warms my heart to hear that..many thanks. Please feel free to share it anywhere you wish, I appreciate your thought. I will definitely check that poem out and perhaps more of your work..thank you again 🙂

      Like

    Robert said:
    December 5, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    Greetings,

    Isn’t it a gift to know what it’s like to receive something other than love, and to then go about striving to keep others from having that same experience. This beautiful post – expressive of that gift – brought me to want to share that with you.

    Thank you very much for this. One of your best….so very nice.

    All good wishes,

    robert

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:30 pm

      so true Robert, a beautiful thought you shared there..I can relate to it very much. and many thanks for your continued support, your feedback..know that it means a lot to me. I wish you best of love and light, always 🙂

      Like

    Daniel Ionson said:
    December 5, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    That was very real. Thank you.
    Daniel

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:26 pm

      as real as it gets 🙂 thank you Daniel!

      Like

    ericaatje said:
    December 5, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    B E A U T I F U L !!!

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:26 pm

      thank you so much Erica ♥

      Like

    kentishrev said:
    December 5, 2013 at 11:41 am

    The reflection of the negatives to support your positive approach to life provides a shining lesson for us all. Thank you

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:25 pm

      I recieve your words with a heart full of gratitude..slowly trying to transform pain into ecstasy 🙂 thank you dear kentishrev

      Like

    speedyjoemarxist said:
    December 5, 2013 at 11:35 am

    I particularly like this poem tremendously, specifically the second and forth stanzas strike to the core of my being. Thank yo so much for sharing this with the world

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:21 pm

      sometimes we go through experiences too painful to talk about when are in the midst of the storm and even on the periphery. but over time, only lessons, only learning remains which is still a little easier to put in words 🙂 I am so glad to hear you enjoyed and resonated, my dear..many thanks ♥

      Like

    Zeeshan said:
    December 5, 2013 at 11:20 am

    I can only wish that I had found your WordPress sooner. I have missed so many gems such as this. There’s so much I have to catch up on. Please continue spilling your heart out. 🙂

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:18 pm

      you’re too sweet Zeeshan! thank you. I am so glad you are here for real. and guess when we live in the heart, there’s no other way hey? 🙂

      Like

        Zeeshan said:
        December 8, 2013 at 11:43 am

        Yes, I am here to stay 🙂 I was a way for the weekend but I”m back now. I shall read everything I’ve missed from this week onward. 😀

        Like

    Thamyris said:
    December 5, 2013 at 10:59 am

    This conjured memories of Damian Rice singing “Cannonball” and that accrue sensation of gracefulness for things which might otherwise seem tragic–the realization we are formed from pain, crafted from challenges until the beauty of every line is in sharp relief. Enchanting, dear.

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:16 pm

      I love Damein Rice 😀 Cannonbal, Delicate, Stone, Volcano, Blower’s Daughter all of them are my favourites! I know what you mean, I listened to it again and ahh you put it so well there in those few lines..thank you, dear Tam 🙂

      Like

        Thamyris said:
        December 6, 2013 at 8:44 pm

        When souls embrace the world for a moment stills
        And my heart is, with the heart of another, filled

        🙂

        Like

          Himani B responded:
          December 6, 2013 at 8:52 pm

          ahh what a beautiful brimming this is. you write such lovely thoughts so eloquently, Tam..you’re truly gifted. I always read them a few times..just to smile everytime 🙂 .. thank you

          Like

            Thamyris said:
            December 6, 2013 at 8:55 pm

            If the inspiration flowed from you, I cannot be blamed entirely. Surely you must share the glory, darling.

            Like

              Himani B responded:
              December 6, 2013 at 8:57 pm

              haha we could always share the blame? or even better have no one to blame .. but smile in this poetic meeting? I sure am ♥

              Like

                Thamyris said:
                December 6, 2013 at 9:38 pm

                I am more than willing to share the blame and the smile. The latter is easily come by when reading your replies 🙂

                Like

    Samra said:
    December 5, 2013 at 10:51 am

    Simply beautiful

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:12 pm

      thanks a lot Samra, glad to hear you liked it 🙂

      Like

    Pierre said:
    December 5, 2013 at 10:34 am

    I live my heart, because I know that one day I’ll be no more. Death is the great opener.

    Bless the beauty of your soul…

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:12 pm

      you see the beauty that is only present in you, dear Pierre 🙂 death sure is and guess there is a heart within that heart that will keep beating, that will never get destroyed no matter what. I wish you much love and light 🙂

      Like

    Rob Taylor said:
    December 5, 2013 at 10:32 am

    Interesting flow of thoughts…..depth. The opposites are the extreme points bound to the center….inseparable.

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:07 pm

      very true Rob, love that thought. and they say its the stretched soul that produces music. gotta be thankful for everything 🙂

      Like

    Liza Morales said:
    December 5, 2013 at 10:32 am

    I empathize with these sentiments wholeheartedly.
    What a beautifully profound piece, sister.

    Like

      Himani B responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 8:05 pm

      ..perhaps because it came from the heart, came from experience Liza 🙂 thank you so much, glad to hear you could relate x

      Like

        Liza Morales said:
        December 6, 2013 at 9:44 pm

        I say ‘beautifully profound’ because of this one blessing –> “to have learnt from contradictions”
        When we have the ability to learn from the storm, that indeed is a blessing….. not taking away the difficulty of the journey, but it is one to be embraced. Our life’s tribulations offer the greatest lessons, even painfully. Again, I can particularize with this write.

        Because you wrote this from your heart, makes it even more beautiful, Himani. 🙂

        Like

          Himani B responded:
          December 7, 2013 at 8:15 pm

          you’re so sweet Liza, thank you for sharing that. I agree completely! I wish you the best in life and love. thank you for being here and sharing your thoughts, appreciate them 🙂

          Like

Your thoughts ..

